Monetary Policy Meetings (MPM)

Monetary Policy Meetings are the decision-making instance in which the Board of the Central Bank of Chile sets the level of the Monetary Policy Rate. As of 2018, the number of meetings was reduced to 8 per year (previously 12).

Four of these meetings take place on the working day prior to the publication of the Monetary Policy Report, and on those occasions they last a day. The remaining four meetings last a day and a half. The Board drafts a statement, which is published at 6 p.m. of the day the Meeting takes place, and which informs of the decision taken, the reasons for it, and the vote of each Board Member, and provides guidance on the future trajectory of the Monetary Policy Rate. Eleven working days later, the Minutes of the Meeting are published, a document that reports the main discussions regarding the background information considered, the monetary policy options the Board deemed plausible, and the reasoning and rationale employed in deciding for one of them.

In September, the dates of Monetary Policy Meetings and of the publication of the Monetary Policy Reports and Financial Stability Reports for the next calendar year are announced.

Calendar of Monetary Policy Meetings 2020

Monetary Policy Meetings 2020

  • January 28 and 29
  • March 31st
  • May 5 and 6
  • June 16
  • July 14 and 15
  • September 1st
  • October 14 and 15
  • December 7

Press release

  • Wednesday, January 29
  • Tuesday, March 31
  • Wednesday, May 6
  • Tuesday, June 16
  • Wednesday, July 15
  • Tuesday, September 1
  • Thursday, October 15
  • Monday, December 7

Minute

  • Thursday, February 13
  • Thursday, April 16
  • Friday, May 22
  • Thursday, July 2nd
  • Friday, July 31
  • Wednesday, September 16
  • Friday, October 30
  • Wednesday, December 23

Transcripts of the Monetary Policy Meetings

In accordance with its policy of institutional transparency, the Bank makes available to the public the transcripts of the Monetary Policy Meetings ten years after each meeting has taken place and according to an annual disclosure criterion, in March of each year.

The content of the published transcripts is transcribed in full, with the exception of those passages or elements that must remain under secret or reserve in accordance with the provisions of Articles 65 bis and 66 of the Constitutional Organic Law governing the Central Bank, in relation to the pertinent norms of Law No. 20,285 on Access to Public Information.